LibGuides: Music (classical & jazz) & Music Technology: Online Resources & Websites

Electronic Resources supplied by your Library

Cambridge Companions to Music provide clear and accessible information on composers, instruments or musical topics, written with the student, the performer and the music lover in mind. Each volume provides a carefully structured series of specially-commissioned essays by leading authorities offering comprehensive coverage and indispensable reference material as well as absorbing reading matter.

Online version of The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, The New Grove Dictionary of Opera, and The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz.

As well as Naxos recordings, releases from several other labels are now included, covering Jazz, World Music, and a wide range of Classical repertoire.

Stream live concerts or playback previously recorded concerts, films and interviews from the Berlin Philharmonic on your desktop, laptop, tablet or mobile.

Watch video tutorials from renowned musicians.

A library of International Phonetic Alphabet (IPA) transcriptions and literal translations of opera arias, art songs and poems.

Browse or create playlists of bite-sized video clips developed for music teachers and professionals.

List of Jazz recordings

Multidisciplinary; covers the Social Sciences Citation Index (1981-), Arts & Humanities Citation Index, and The Index to Scientific and Technical Proceedings(1990-)

Streaming video from Naxos and several labels.

MetOpera Online Videos of Live Opera Performance from the Metropolitan Opera, new York.

Streamed operas from the Met, new York.

An app based digital sheet music library available on phones, tablets, laptops or desktops.

Online Resources Supplied by BCU Libraries

ARTFL-FRANTEXT This link opens in a new window
This includes dictionaries of music.
Cambridge Companions to Music This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search or browse this collection of over 70 eBooks on music topics including composers, instruments and music genres.
Digital Concert Hall This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Stream live concerts or playback previously recorded concerts, films and interviews from the Berlin Philharmonic on your desktop, laptop, tablet or mobile. Please log out when finished using. Only 1 concurrent user allowed at a time.
IPA Source This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A library of International Phonetic Alphabet (IPA) transcriptions and literal translations of opera arias, art songs and poems.
Met Opera on Demand This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Online streaming service for opera performances from the Metropolitan Opera. Please log out when finished using. Only 5 concurrent users allowed at a time.
Music Online: Classical Scores Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search or browse volumes I to IV of classical music scores library, dating from the Middle Ages right up to the 21st century.
Naxos Music Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search or browse more than 2 million classical, folk and world music tracks to play. Please log out when finished using. Only 12 concurrent users allowed at a time.
Naxos Music Library Jazz This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search or browse tracks to play of more than 12,000 jazz artists. Please log out when finished using. Only 3 concurrent users allowed at a time.
Naxos Video Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search or browse more than 3,000 classical music, opera and ballet video performances to play. Please log out when finished using. Only 3 concurrent users allowed at a time.
Nkoda This link opens in a new window
An app based digital sheet music library available on phones, tablets, laptops or desktops.
Oxford Music Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search this online encyclopedia for information on music and musicians from sources including the New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, the Oxford Dictionary of Music and the Oxford Companion to Music.
Play with a Pro This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Stream or download video tutorials, interviews and performances from renowned musicians.
ReelMusic This link opens in a new window
Browse or create playlists of bit-sized video clips developed for music teachers and professionals. You will need to ask the course leader (Luan Shaw for Music Pedagogy) to enrol you on this database.
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search for abstracts and citations of publications on classical, popular and traditional music.
Rock's Backpages This link opens in a new window
An archive of rock and popular music journalism.

Early English Books Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search or browse more than 100,000 digitized copies of a early English works, including almanacs, bibles, literature, prayer books, proclamations and sermons all dating from between 1475 to 1700.
Routledge Performance Archive This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The Routledge Performance Archive provides exclusive access to an unprecedented and continually expanding range of streamed video and audio footage from performance practitioners past and present paired with relevant critical commentary delivered directly to the classroom, rehearsal hall, library and desktop or digital device.

Acoustical Society of America Publications This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search or browse the Journal of the Acoustical Society of America for full-text theoretical and experimental research journal articles on acoustics and sound.
Audio Engineering Society E-Library This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to convention preprints, conference papers and journal articles published by the Audio Engineering Society
IEEE Xplore Digital Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to books, journal articles, conference proceedings and standards of technical information for electrical engineering, computer science and electronics.
ScienceDirect Freedom Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ScienceDirect Freedom Collection includes access to over 2,000 full-text journals from Elsevier covering a wide range of subjects including computer science, engineering, health sciences, life sciences and social sciences and humanities.
Springer Compact This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Springer Compact includes access to over 2,000 full-text journals covering a wide range of subjects including engineering, life sciences, medicine, science, social sciences and technology.

EThOS This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search for doctoral theses awarded by UK universities. Registration/login required to download full-text where available.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scopus is one of the largest databases of abstracts and citations of journals, books and conference proceedings from more than 5000 publishers, with coverage including science, technology, medicine, social sciences, arts and humanities research.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search Web of Science for abstracts and citations of journals, books and conference proceedings from science, social sciences and arts & humanities subjects.

COPAC
Copac exposes rare and unique research material by bringing together the catalogues of over 100 major UK and Irish libraries (and growing). In a single search you can discover the holdings of the UK’s national libraries (including the British Library), many University libraries, and specialist research libraries. Researchers and educators use Copac to save time in their research, to quickly and easily discover and locate resources, to check document details, review materials in their field, and assess the rarity of materials etc. Information professionals trust Copac to give them access to a unique pool of high-quality bibliographic information.
Dissertation Express
Through active partnerships with more than 700 universities, ProQuest disseminates and archives of more than 90,000 new graduate works each year. These are available to purchase as PDFs.
RISM
RISM's database offers the most comprehensive documentation available for music manuscripts and printed music for the time between 1600 and 1800. It continues to grow through monthly updates and averages around 30,000 new records anually.
RISM Online Catalogue of Musical Sources
The International Inventory of Musical Sources - Répertoire International des Sources Musicales (RISM) - is an international, non-profit organization which aims for comprehensive documentation of extant musical sources worldwide. These primary sources are manuscripts or printed music, writings on music theory, and libretti. They are housed in libraries, archives, monasteries, schools and private collections.
WorldCat
WorldCat is the world's largest network of library content and services. WorldCat libraries are dedicated to providing access to their resources on the Web, where most people start their search for information.

Useful Websites

Library of Birmingham

As a student in Birmingham you are entitled to join and borrow from one of the UK's largest music libraries.Before going it is worth using their catalogue to check that they have what you want although it does not appear to list everything which they hold.

Digital Resources for Musicologists
This website provides links to substantial open-access projects of use to musicians and musicologists. With a burgeoning number of digital resources available, remembering titles of sites and pathways to them can be difficult. Digital Resources in Musicology (DRM) is organized topically and provides a rapid search tool for specialties within heterogeneous collections. Neither the links nor their descriptions are exhaustive. Older projects predating the development of the internet are listed at ADAM: Archive of Digital Applications in Musicology. Curated digital and hybrid editions are itemized at EVE: Electronic and Virtual Editions. Harvard's Online Resources for Music Scholars offer a somewhat different, largely complementary mix of projects. On placement by category, please see our FAQ (Frequently Asked Questions lis
Golden Pages for Musicologists
The Golden Pages provide announcements for forthcoming conferences in musicology and related disciplines, an archive of dissertation abstracts, links to music departments worldwide, and other links of interest to musicologists
American Society of Musicology
The American Musicological Society was founded in 1934 as a non-profit organization to advance "research in the various fields of music as a branch of learning and scholarship," a mission that has since evolved to include teaching and learning about music in addition to research. In 1951 the Society became a constituent member of the American Council of Learned Societies. At present, 3,500 individual members and 1,000 institutional subscribers from forty nations are on the rolls of the Society.

Underscore

UnderScore is a musicology blog about the making of critical editions and about what those editions can reveal. Readers include musicologists, music editors, early music specialists, linguists, and anyone interested in the confluence of scholarship, music, and bookmaking.

Posts explore the editing process and featured editions. A-R’s house editors contribute essays on solving editorial problems and field questions from the public. Author-editors of published volumes contribute essays that shed further light on their projects.

Conservatoires UK
CUK is the voice of conservatoire education in the UK. We represent the collective views of eleven UK conservatoires. Our role is to develop best practice for training and education in the performing arts and to promote the sector’s excellence nationally and globally.
RISM – Répertoire International des Sources Musicales
The International Inventory of Musical Sources - Répertoire International des Sources Musicales (RISM) - is an international, non-profit organization which aims for comprehensive documentation of extant musical sources worldwide. These primary sources are manuscripts or printed music, writings on music theory, and libretti. They are housed in libraries, archives, monasteries, schools and private collections.
Women of Note
Hosted by Diana Ambache and celebrating three hundred years of music by women this includes extensive repertoire listings for music by women composers.

Music by Black Composers