Skip to main content

Fashion (including Fashion Branding Communication and Fashion Business Promotion): Journals and databases

Databases Supplied by BCU Libraries

Why journal and databases are important

Journals and databases give you access to the latest information on your subject. This page has links to the most useful journals, databases  and websites for your subject. You can also search the journals via the library catalogue.

If you need help using a database click on this button for the database guide.

The Digital Library provides access to past exam papers, examples of final projects and digitised chapters and articles relevant to your course.

The internet is also a useful place to find information - this guide will help you to evaluate webpages.

Top Academic Journals

Search Electronic Journal articles in Summon

Useful websites

There are some webpages which will be useful in your 

studies. 

Fashion Transparency Index

Review of the 200 largest global fashion brands and retailers, ranked according to how much they disclose about their social and environmental policies ...

Just Style

The online news, insight and research portal for the 

apparel and textile industry.

Marks and Spencer company archives

Search the M&S Archives online, includes images for thousands of items in the collection. 

Paul Smith

Includes company history, campaigns and product guides.

Prada Universe

Digital archive from Prada featuring campaigns, catwalk shows and designs dating back to 1987. Includes video and photo content.

We Wear Culture - Fashion Project from Google Arts & Culture

Searchable archive of thousands of fashion collections from around the world. Visual and interactive content, exploring the stories behind clothes, fashion and its place in history.

 

 

Costume Society

Promoting the study of all aspects of clothing and textiles, the Society aims to encourage access to costume history, including contemporary dress.

Design Nation 

Promotes the work of some 100 of the most talented designers based in the UK.

The Textile Institute

The Textile Institute exists to promote professionalism in all areas associated with the textile industries worldwide. The individual professional expertise of members is diverse: management, art, design, economics, education, engineering, fashion, marketing, production, research, retailing, science, selling, sustainability, technical and training. These skills relate to the totality of industrial and commercial operations from fibre production to the use of products by individual and corporate consumers.

Europeana Fashion

Fashion and Textile Museum, London

Founded by iconic British designer Zandra Rhodes, the centre showcases a programme of changing exhibitions exploring elements of fashion and textiles as well as running a wide variety of creative courses and workshops for children, students and businesses.

Fashion Museum, Bath
Victoria and Albert Museum, London
American Apparel and Footwear Association

 

Association of Suppliers to the British Clothing Industry

British Footwear Association
Directory of Design Consultants

Accessibility Statement