It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
During your course you will probably need to find out information about a company or industry sector. The aim of this guide is to where you might find this type of information, both from library and free web resources.
Please contact us (see Help) if you need any help.
The best place to start finding information on a company is the company’s own website. Most well-known public companies will have excellent web pages with a wealth of company information and data – if you can find them hidden amongst the pages designed to sell the company’s products and services!
Once you have found the home page, start looking for these types of phrases as links: Investor Relations; About Us; Shareholder Information; Company. They could be anywhere on the home page and are not always obvious.
When you have located a suitable link, click on it and you should be able to find:
Latest and Previous Annual Reports & Accounts
Presentation to Analysts (Sometimes)
Press Releases & Company Announcements
Current and Historical Share Prices
Brokers’ Reports (Occasionally)
SEC filings e.g. 10-K’s (US public companies only)
Each company website is different and will not necessarily contain the same information nor use the same descriptions as above.
Please Note: Not all well-known companies are quoted companies – e.g.: Mars the international confectionery and pet food manufacturer is a private company and reveals very little corporate information about itself on its website. You need to identify its subsidiaries.
Access consumer and market research reports on a wide range of topics including the automotive industry, clothing and footwear, food and drink, health and beauty, homes and lifestyle, leisure and wellbeing, media, technology and travel.
includes full text from local, national and international newspapers plus company profiles from a variety of databases including country specific e.g. America, Canada, France, Germany, Japan, UK and international sources covering most major countries and companies.
Search or browse for abstracts and citations, including many with full-text, of academic and trade journal articles, books, dissertations, newspapers, market research reports and videos on business, leadership and management topics.
Companies House The WebCHeck service offers a searchable Company Names and Address Index free of charge which enables you to search for information on more than 2 million companies. The searches can be carried out on a company either by using its name or by using its unique company registration number
Corporate Information Access to the full content of this site requires a subscription, however, the Research Links section (under the Tools tab) includes links to company, industry and country information websites.
Library of Birmingham-offers free Business Advice and a link to COBRA- (Complete Business Reference Adviser) which is a unique online information resource containing Business Start-up factsheets. The database can be accessed from outside the Library provided you have a valid Birmingham libraries card