Skip to main content

Visiting Our Libraries: Home

Can I join the library?

Yes!

We have 5 site libraries, all with different subject specialisms. If you are a student at a SCONUL Access-participating university, or a member of the Royal College of Organists, you can join us for free. If you are a graduate of Birmingham City University, you may join us for £35 a year. Anybody is welcome to join us for a reference-only card, which entitles them to 5 visits per year.

Getting Here

For directions to our campuses by car, train and bus please visit our travel information pages.

Detailed library location information and directions can be found on our opening hours pages (click on 'Location & Directions' tab). 

Types of membership

If you are a Birmingham City University graduate, you can join the library for £35 a year.

This membership entitles you to:

  • Unlimited access to our library study spaces during opening hours
  • Borrow up to 4 library items at a time.
  • Facilitated interlibrary service via the British Library (additional charges apply)

There is no PC or electronic resources access for external library users.

To join, please complete the application form below.  

Alumni Application Form

Please note:  Applications will be processed within 5 working days.  After your application has been approved, you will receive an email from the library inviting you to visit the library within 2 weeks during staffed hours to complete your registration.  On this first visit you will need to bring proof that you are a BCU graduate, as well as two forms of identification with your current address on, dated within 3 months.  You will be issued with your library card and PIN on this visit and will be able to borrow items immediately.  

Please be aware that once you have completed your registration you will have to bring your library card and proof of ID with you every time you visit the library in-order to enter the building

 

BCU welcomes members of other universities in the SCOUNL scheme to use the library.  To visit BCU libraries you must be both a member of the SCONUL scheme and complete the BCU application below.

SCONUL Access is a reciprocal scheme which allows many university library users to borrow or use books and journals at other libraries which belong to the scheme. The scheme covers most of the university libraries in the UK and Ireland.

If you are:

  • a member of staff (both academic and support staff) on an open or fixed term contract
  • a postgraduate research student registered for a PhD, MPhil or similar qualification
  • a part-time, distance learning and placement student
  • or a full-time postgraduate

and your university or college is a member of the scheme, you may be able to borrow from other college or university libraries.

If you are

  • a full-time undergraduate student

and your university or college is a member of the scheme, you may be able to use the resources of other college and university libraries for reference.

To apply for the scheme, click here. Your home university library will send you an acceptance email, which tells you which band of user you are.  

Once you have received your acceptance from SCONUL please complete the application form below

SCONUL Member BCU Application Form 

You must have an application acceptance email from BCU before you visit.  You will not be able to access BCU buildings before you have received this email.

Please note:  Applications will be processed within 5 working days.  After your application has been approved, you will receive an email from the library inviting you to visit the library within 2 weeks during staffed hours to complete your registration.  On this first visit you will need to bring your home institution ID, your acceptance email from SCONUL, as well as a form of identification with your current address on, dated within 3 months.  

Please be aware that once you have completed your registration you will have to bring your library card and proof of ID with you every time you visit the library in-order to enter the building

 

   

 

 

From 1st October 2017 Members of the Royal College or Organists are invited to join Birmingham City University libraries at no charge.

Over the summer 2017 BCU and the RCO library established the RCO Curzon Loan Collection.  With over 3000 items from the RCO library housed at the Curzon library in the heart of Birmingham, the collection enables members to browse and borrow library items at their discretion for the first time.   The contents of the library and the collection can be found on the RCO catalogue.

Members of BCU Libraries:

  • Have unlimited access to the RCO Curzon Loan Collection during opening hours
  • Can borrow up to 4 items from any BCU loan collection at a time. This includes items from the Royal Birmingham Conservatoire loan collections
  • Can access our study space during opening hours
  • Can request facilitated Interlibrary loans via the British Library (there is an additional cost for the use of this service)

Please note there is no PC, WiFi or electronic resources access on campus for external library users.

To join, please complete the application form below.

RCO Application Form

Please note:  Applications will be processed within 5 working days.  After your application has been approved, you will receive an email from the library inviting you to visit the library within 2 weeks during staffed hours to complete your registration.  On this first visit  you will need to bring two forms of identification with your current address on, dated within 3 months.  You will be issued with your library card and PIN on this visit and will be able to borrow items immediately.

Please be aware that once you have completed your registration you will have to bring your library card and proof of ID with you every time you visit the library in-order to enter the building

Some Individuals associated with the institution (retired members of BCU staff,  External Examiners, BCA life members and some groups of NHS users). can apply for fee-exempt membership.  Fee-exempt membership is entirely at the discretion of Library & Learning Resources. If you would like to discuss whether you would be entitled to fee-exempt membership, please email us.or speak to us on 0121 331 5282

Membership entitles you to:

  • use our study spaces
  • borrow up to 4 library items at a time. 

Please be aware there is no PC or electronic resources access for external library users. 

To join, complete the application form below:.

Fee Exempt Application Form

Please note:  Applications will be processed within 5 working days.  After your application has been approved, you will receive an email from the library inviting you to visit the library within 2 weeks during staffed hours to complete your registration.  On this first visit  you will need to bring proof that you are entitled to fee-exempt membership, as well as two forms of identification with your current address on, dated within 3 months.  You will be issued with your library card and PIN on this visit and will be able to borrow items immediately.

Please be aware that once you have completed your registration you will have to bring your library card and proof of ID with you every time you visit the library in-order to enter the building

Members of the public are welcome to apply for a reference-only card.

This entitles you to 5 day visits in one calendar year (including initial visit), to use our study spaces and paper resources within the library.

Please note there is no PC or electronic resources access for external library users.

To join, complete the application form below:

Reference Application Form 

Please note:  Applications will be processed within 5 working days.  After your application has been approved, you will receive an email from the library inviting you to visit the library within 2 weeks during staffed hours to complete your registration.  On this first visit  you will need to bring a passport sized photograph as well as two forms of identification with your current address on, dated within 3 months

Please be aware that once you have completed your registration you will have to bring your library card and proof of ID with you every time you visit the library in-order to enter the building

Loading

The library reserves the right to change any membership scheme at any time.

All information on members is treated confidentially and with respect for the benefit of the University and its members in accordance with the Data Protection Act 1998

Opening hours

Today's opening hours

 

You can find all of our opening hours here.

Need Help?

If you have any questions about joining BCU Libraries, you can get in touch with us via our Library Help page.