Music (classical & jazz) & Music Technology: Books about Music
Image Credit: BCU Assets
Books about music are an excellent way to broaden your knowledge or start researching a subject. As well as searching for books and e-books directly in the Library Search, there are multiple ways to discover relevant books:
If we don't have something you're looking for you can also suggest new books or use our inter library loans service.
Reading Lists Online
Reading Lists Online provides access to reading lists for your modules. You can search for lists using the module code, name, or your lecturer's name.
Individual items on the lists will take you directly to Library Search or to the full text for e-books and e-journals.
If you can't find your reading list, talk to your module leader or contact us at Library Chat.
Accessinig reading lists (video)
Browse for books about music
You can find books filed by these numbers on the shelves Curzon Library.
Check BCU Library Search for specific titles and availability.
Musical Forms and Musical Groupings
Musical Forms
- Concerto 784.23
- Opera 782.1
- Sonata 784.183
- Song Cycle 782.47
- Symphony 784.184
Musical Groupings
- Orchestra 784.2
- String Quartet 785.71
Musical Instruments
Brass Instruments
- Horn 788.94
- Trumpet 788.92
- Trombone 788.93
- Tuba 788.98
Keyboard instruments
- Keyboard 786.1
- Piano 786.2
- Harpsichord 786.3
- Organ 786.5
Woodwind instruments
- Bassoon 788.58
- Clarinet 788.62
- Flute 788.32
- Oboe 788.52
- Recorder 788.36
- Saxophone 788.7
String instruments
- Violin 787.2
- Viola 787.3
- Cello 787.4
- Double Bass 787.5
- Harp 787.9
- Guitar 787.87
Percussion Instruments
- Percussion 786.81
Music History by Country and Music History by Period
Music History by Country
- British Music 780.941
- French Music 780.944
- German Music 780.943
- Italian Music 780.945
- Russian Music 780.947
Music History by Period
- Medieval 780.9031
- Renaissance 780.9031
- Baroque 780.9032
- Classical 780.9033
- Romantic 780.9034
- 20th Century 780.94
Theory and Practice of Music
Practice of Music
- Aural Skills 781.42
- Composition 781.3
- Harmony 781.25
- Performance Practice 781.43
- Orchestration 781.374
- Ornamentation 781.247
- Pitch 781.232
- Psychology of Music 781.11
- Tempo 781.22
Theory of Music
- Ethnomusicology 780.89
- Music Education 780.71
- Music Research 780.72
- Music Theory 780.1
- Notation 780.148
Jazz and Vocal
Vocal
- Singing / Voice 783.3
Jazz
- Jazz 781.65
- Jazz Performers 781.65092
e-book collections for book about music
Cambridge Companions to Music
Cambridge Companions to Music provide clear and accessible information on composers, instruments or musical topics, written with the student, the performer and the music lover in mind. Each volume provides a carefully structured series of specially-commissioned essays by leading authorities offering comprehensive coverage and indispensable reference material as well as absorbing reading matter.
Grove Music Online
Online version of The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, The New Grove Dictionary of Opera, and The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz.
ARTFL-FRANTEXT
ARTFL-FRANTEXT is the main ARTFL Database, comprising more than 3,600 French-language texts, 215 million words and 675,000 unique word forms. The corpus contains texts ranging from classic works of French literature to various kinds of non-fiction prose and technical writing.
What do I do if the Library does not have the book I need?
Interlibrary Loans
Request material from other libraries including print books for loan or digital copies of book chapters and journal articles.
Suggest a Resource
Submit suggestions for new resources including books, CDs, DVDs or music scores for addition to our collections.