Skip to main content

Life Sciences: Print or eBooks

Researching for Assignments

The Library provides a range of online resources for your use. If you are in the process of researching for an assignment, we would suggest  the following the steps below to identify the information you need:

Step 1Print & eBooks. Books provide an overview of a topic and will help to identify the terms used - useful when searching the databases and the web. Start with the suggested reading from your tutors but also look for similar titles on the Library Catalogue (use the More Like This link).

Step 2. Summon. Summon searches across many of our collections in one go. Summon is useful as a scoping tool for your topic, to see which aspects have been written about and to identify resources within the Birmingham City University Library collections.

Step 3. Journals & databases. Focus your search to find more material. Use an individual health-related subject database (see right) to drill down into your chosen topic. By including NHS Evidence in your search strategy you will also find NICE Guidelines and other resources available from NHS services.

Step 4. Tracing papers not linked to full text in the databases. Check the A-Z of Journal Titles. Do a web search - many publishers provide some open access. If these fail, request the Library to obtain the paper for you.

Remember that help is available (See right). Either use our enquiry service or arrange a time to spend with a member of the Liaison Librarian Team.

Reading Lists Online

Reading Lists Online is managed by academic staff and the site is hosted via Library & Learning Resources. It provides access to reading lists containing materials for your courses and modules as selected by your lecturers. You can find your lists by searching for module names, module codes or your lecturer's name. Individual items on the lists will take you directly to the Library Catalogue to check availability (or place a reservation) or link through to the full text for many e-books and e-journals.

Can't find your Reading Lists Online, or need help?

  • The collection of reading lists is growing, but if you can't find yours, have a word with your Tutor(s). 
  • You can contact us at libanswers.bcu.ac.uk  if you have any questions about the system. 

Click on the image to begin!

We have produced a Video Guide to Reading Lists Online which we hope you will find useful. View it here

 

Print or eBooks?

The Library has a large range of print and eBook titles to meet your needs. Print books can be a great place to start your research, but remember that demand can be high, so you'll need to plan in advance.

eBooks are a quick and easy way to access material. They are available on or off campus and can be used 24 hours a day. If you own a tablet device, these books can be viewed easily wherever you have a connection to the internet. These titles also allow limited printing.

You can access our print and eBook collections through the Library Catalogue or on Summon.

Latest Titles in the Library