Skip to main content

Business: Strategy, Marketing & Economics: Journals & Databases

Researching for Assignments

The Library provides a huge range of online resources for your use, all selected by your librarian as relevant to your courses.

If you are in the process of researching for an assignment, we'd suggest the following route:

Step 1Print & eBooks . You might want to use print and ebooks to find out more about the topic, and begin your reading.

Step 2. Summon. Widen your research by using Summon to look for journal articles, conference reports, newspaper articles and more. Summon searches across many of our databases in one go, much like Google. It does not search across the law databases: Lexis and WestLaw so you would need to search these individually.

Step 3. Journals & databases. Focus your search to find material specific to the built environment by searching the Construction Information Service for full-text reports or by searching ARCOM or Emerald for construction-related journal articles and conference papers in full-text.

Step 4. Tracing research papers. Expand your search beyond this University by searching the RIBA's online library catalogue Architecture.com (see below), Google Scholar, or ICONDA, Web of Science or ZETOC, resources on the A-Z list of Electronic Resources which will help you find articles on your subject.

Remember that help is available. Either use our enquiry service or arrange some time to spend with your Liaison Librarian.

A-Z of Electronic Resources

As well as the individual subject resources listed above, which we have picked out for you, here is a full list of all our electronic resources organized by name.

Summon

Summon

Summon searches across all our print books and journals, the majority of our electronic journals, our ebooks and a number of our databases. When you enter a search in Summon you will get references to books, journal articles, newspapers and more.

Useful Databases

These journals databases include articles related to the subject of Marketing, Advertising and Public Relations. You can search across all the databases in one go by using Summon (see above) or for more sophisticated searches you can search them individually and this will provide a more focused set of results on your chosen subject.

These are market research databases and other useful databases

Loading

Journal Articles

When searching for journal articles by keyword you can increase the relevancy of your results by including additional words connected to your search.

If you find references to articles that the library does not have access to, either in print or online, you can use the Inter Library Loans service to request a copy.