Skip to main content

Linguistics: Journals & Databases

Athens Log-ins

The best way to access the databases provided by BCU is via I-City. If you go directly to a database you may be asked to sign in using an Open Athens account. Advice on how to access the database using this screen is here

Journal Articles

When searching for journal articles by keyword you can increase the relevancy of your results by including additional words connected to your search.

Useful Journals

There are lots of print journals for linguistics students shelved in Curzon Library. A full list of full text electronic journals is available here. Most full text electronic journals can be searched using Summon

Here are links to some of the most popular electronic journals.

Loading

Contact your Librarian for help

If you want some advice on  using these databases or help devising the best way to search them, contact Carol Price, Janet Fox or Andrew Scragg who are happy to set up a tutorial to help

A-Z of Electronic Resources

As well as the individual subject resources listed on this page, which we have picked out for you, here is a full list of all our electronic resources organized by name.                

A-Z list of Electronic Resources

Summon

Summon

Summon searches across all our print books and journals, the majority of our electronic journals, our ebooks and a number of our databases. When you enter a search in Summon you will get references to books, journal articles, newspapers and more.

Useful Linguistics Databases and Websites

These resources all contain material related to the subject of linguistics. You may prefer to search across many of our them in one go (using Summon above). Using these individual eresources can take more time, but will also provide a more focused set of results on your chosen subject.

These websites contain material related to the subject of linguistics. 

Loading

Basic Guide for using.....

Literature Online (LION) provides access on and off campus to over 270,000 articles and thousands of full text literary works - just what you need for your assignments!

An introduction to LION

A basic guide to finding Criticism on LION

A basic guide to Author searches on LION

A basic guide to finding texts on LION

If you want to book a tutorial to learn more about using and searching LION contact Carol Price or Janet Fox

Early English Books Online (EEBO) provides access to over 135,000 books and documents published between 1470 and 1700. It is a useful resource for those studying Shakespeare, Milton, Dryden or the English Renaissance.

A basic guide to using EEBO

Loading