PubMed comprises more than 26 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
New / Trial Databases
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
Over 650 of McGraw-Hill Education’s engineering titles, including:
- Exclusive self-teaching videos created by leading engineering faculty
- Curriculum maps designed by leading academics
- Time-saving calculator tools streamline common calculations and increase accuracy
- Data Visualisation Tools via DataVis designed for teaching material properties
Archives Unbound presents topically-focused digital collections of historical documents that support the research and study needs of scholars and students. (Best viewed in Internet Explorer . Can be cross searched as part of Gale Primary Sources.
Streaming video and audio from the Berlin Philharmonic Orchestra.
(A pop-up window will appear which prompts you to register with your email address and password or log in with an existing account. After registering / logging in, you can view all concerts, films and interviews in the Digital Concert Hall free of charge on all supported devices from the network of your institution or from home.)
You can research authors and their works, literary movements and genres. Search across your library's Literature databases to find full text of literary works, journal articles, literature criticism, reviews, biographical information and overviews.
Search across all these primary sources at once : 17th and 18th Century Burney Collection,19th Century UK Periodicals, Archives Unbound, British Library Newspapers and Eighteenth Century Collections Online.
General OneFile is a one-stop source for news, magazine, and periodical articles across a wide range of general interest topics and academic disciplines. With millions of articles available in both PDF and HTML full-text.
Online streaming database featuring unforgettable Met performances captured live from the stage of the Metropolitan Opera House. This electronic resource for college and university libraries provides instant access to an unparalleled collection of full-length operas.
Nutrition and Food Sciences Database gathers together research, reviews and news on nutrition and the food sciences in an easily searchable database. It covers the whole food chain from the raw ingredients to the physiological and health effects of nutrients. Key subject areas include public health, clinical nutrition, nutrition physiology, food safety, food security, consumer behaviour, food science and technology and food product groups such as functional foods.
Oxford Law Trove enables you to search and interrogate Oxford’s textbook law list. This link gives you free access to Equity & Trusts 2017 and EU 2017 subject series (select from the subject series menu) as well as the opportunity to purchase more textbooks yourself.
Music instrumental video tuition. You need to scroll down the list of passwords to find the link for Play with a Pro. Click on the link to register - with your BCU e-mail.
NB: You will not be able to install the Play with a Pro Digital Music Academy app onto computers on BCU network or in the student labs.
A central information resource for practitioners, managers, researchers, educators and policy makers (across all relevant disciplines and agencies and sectors) with an interest in adult safeguarding and protection.
This full text database is the premier source of literature for sports and sports medicine journals, providing full-text content from many well-known and respected sources. It is an essential tool for health professionals, researchers and students, providing extensive coverage in the areas of fitness, health and sport studies.
Die Musik in Geschichte und Gegenwart (MGG) is a general encyclopedia of music. MGG is encyclopedic in the true sense of that term: it offers in-depth articles on every aspect of music as well as many related areas such as literature, philosophy, and visual arts. MGG Online contains the second print edition of MGG, published from 1994 to 2008, as well as current, continuous online updates and additions.
Optician magazine is the leading independent, weekly, UK journal for eye care professionals. Since 1891 it has been publishing news, views and analysis on all aspects of the optical profession and business. (NB CET section of the site. This is for personal subscribers only and not used by institutions).